Board of Directors


Indy Folk Series, Inc. is an all-volunteer organization; we do not have any paid staff.  We are incorporated in the State of Indiana as a not-for-profit corporation, and recognized by the IRS as a 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization.  Donations to the Indy Folk Series are tax deductible. 

Board of Directors, as of 8/25/2023

  • Phil Slates, President
  • Sylvia Payne, Vice President
  • Carla Slates, Secretary
  • Joanne Smiddie-Brush, Treasurer
  • Brenda Crowe
  • Mario Joven
  • Mark Kevitt
  • Joe Smiddie-Brush. Past President
  • Kriss Luckett-Ziesemer

You may contact any member of the Board via email at

Our Board of Directors is drawn from our audience and volunteer base.  There is a considerable amount of work that needs to be done in between the concerts, as well as on the day of the show, and we are actively seeking additional volunteers to help.  If you would like to become involved with the Indy Folk Series, talk to one of the volunteers at a concert, or complete the Volunteer Survey so we can get an idea of what your interests are. There’s a role for you!